SaltCritters.com

Low PH

wuldiba

I have been battling with low ph in my 25g reef tank for a couple of months now, it is always around 7.8 to 7.9, and I have been buffering relentlessly to try and get it up. It goes up for a day and by the next morning its back to 7.8 again. Thing is my water for water changing I usually leave to mix for about a day but and I always test before putting into tank, on this occasion it has been sitting in my clean bucket for 2 days with a hob waterfall type pump that i use to circlate the water and i decided to test the ph of this and it too was 7.8 ???????? IN FRESH CHANGE WATER????

dont think its a co2/oxygen thing as its physically impossible to agitate the surface anymore and my bucket is sat next to a drafty door to the outside?

any suggestions welcome as I'm pulling my hair out!

parameters in tank are

cal 550

mag 1350

kh 13

ph 7.85

oh, and I use reef crystals

SeeDemTails

Good question.....PH is pretty hard to get wrong.

Do you have a skimmer? Are you surface skimming you tank, or does it have a scum layer on the waters surface? This will severly impeed gas exchange, thats why surface skimming is so important.

PH buffers are never a good thing to add to the tank that often, you might throw your ca/alk balance out of whack.

The Propagator

Do you smoke in your home excessively ?

Is your tank covered?

Is your home well ventilated?

Aside from doing these 4 things:

using a calcium reactor with to much co2 injection.

using cheap low quality salt on top of using low ph R/O water ( some times adjusting the ph of your pure R/O water is needed).

Dosing to much baking soda to buffer your alkalinity.

Using the wrong kind of DIY rock or some other wrong kind of natural rock.

About the only way you can repeatedly have low PH is if you have excessive CO2 build up either in your home or in the water column from lack of ventilation or gaseous exchange.

If its a covered tank remove the cover and let it breathe.