Cultivated Reef

Harvesting Wild Live Sand/Rock

Dennis

I live in east Central Florida (Cocoa Beach area) and I'm looking to start a Nano-Reef tank. I have a 10-gallon tank (former freshwater aquarium) that I plan to use.

My question is, since I live right on the Atlantic Coast, can I just go to the beach, dig up some sand, take a couple buckets of water, etc., and just set up a tank with that (rather than buying)? Or I am I just taking on too much for an absolute beginner?

I would imagine that if I set it up a tank with such "ocean-fresh" ingredients there would be a lot of parasites and other undesirable "guests." But couldn't I just wait (for a couple of weeks?) for those to show up and remove them before I add any live rock, fish, or invertibrates?

there will be all kinds of stuff that you do and don't want in the sand and the water. I would not take water from the beach but rather, from a deeper area of water as the beach tends to get the foam factor which can't be good.

Also, be careful, it might not be legal to walk off with sand from the beach. I'm unsure if they would bother to fine you for taking a small amount but you never know.

I would say go for the sand, but the water is just too heavy. Try and pick a place where the sand is cleaner and give it a good wash before you leave the beach. Bring a fine net or something like that. Also let it stand and skim any crap off the top.

I have used wild collected sand many times from FL. No one is going to give you hard time, if you don't make a big deal and scene out of it. But stay away from live rock, they will bust you on that!!!

Dickie

if you give it a good wash, you will likely remove animals and bacteria that you would want to keep.

either take the sand and pick out the debris (shells etc) or don't take it but washing it will dilute the life.