Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Is topping off really an issue???

JLTRUK

Hi everyone...I am a newbie at the whole Nano tank thing

I just purchased...about 5 days ago a 12 gallon JBJ Nano Cube

I have been keeping freshwater tanks for over 7 years and maintained my highschools salt tank for 3 years...it was a 160 gallon tank.

well anyway, I have been doing tons of research online about Nanos and what not and there is one thing that keeps being brought up over and over...auto top off units, top off units...and just top off questions in general.

Besides the obvious, the tanks being so small, why is "topping off" such an issue. Can't you just pour a little water in to bring the level back up, its not really that hard. Am I missing something.

Thanks for any help, I am new at this again and maybe I am not clued in as to why this is such an important topic.

It is better to slowly add the fresh topoff water. Useing a dripper or doser will slowly drop the salinity of the water, instead of quickly droping it by pouring water into the tank.

Smaller tanks fluctuate alot faster than bigger tanks, due to the volume of water. That is why nano's are thought to be alot harder to keep, or (imposible).

Just that little bit that evaperates can change the salinity alot. Maybe even to the point that it could kill things in the tank, if you let it get too far.

So in other words, quickly pouring water in can/will shock inhabitants. So don't do it.:)

Also a slow dripping top-off system is a good way to add kalkwasser to the system to increase alkalinity and calcium concentration.

An auto-top off also keeps the tank more stable, since the salinity of the tank doesn't get a chance to rise much due to evaporated fresh water.

V

Believe it or not, depending on the type of lighting you plan to get, the evap. will be more than you think. I purchased mine for a total of $32 and it was the best $$ I think I've spent yet. Good luck!