Top Shelf Aquatics

Hello everyone

alexmsw

I have really become interested in starting my own sw nanoreef after finding this website. I have read all the articles on the site (you guys should publish a nano reef book) and lurked the forums enough. I was wondering if people could suggest some good books to read about the basics of water quality, coral feeding, etc. (Complete Newbie here :unsure: ). I'm definatley a few months off before starting my own tank (probably late sept.) but I want to get as much info as possible. Also i live in the Northern Virginia/DC area and was wondering if anyone knew of any local clubs and good LFS. Well that's it for now, I am sure I will have tons of questions as the weeks go on.

I have to agree with clamkeeper, as I have this book myself and still refer to it from time to time. Excellent for beginners as well as advanced hobbiest!! This book will run you some were around $25.00.

• 3 weeks later...

alexmsw - Just seen this thread, I live in Woodbridge as well. I was working in Reston and got hooked on Marine Scene for my LFS. There are others around and I need to start looking again as well. I hear there is a decent one in Burke. Anyway good luck with the tank.

Yeah I went to marine scene and the people were really nice. I will probably get some livestock from there after I buy everything, still saving :( . Let me know if you find anything.

The one in Burke is not worth the drive (Reef Tank I think it's called), went there once, won''t go back. Poor livestock selections and the tanks are in deplorable condition. Marine Scene is the way to go. Extrememly knowledgeable staff and very helpful. I'm up there once a week for water and to check out thier newest corals. Alex they have a small selection of books availble there, you could check that out as well. I recommend Eric Borneman's Aquarium Corals if you plan on keeping corals, and Tullock's book is called The Natural Reef Aquarium, just picked that up. Great book.