ReefCleaners.org

RO-DI & ATO

unbeatablebonz

unbeatablebonz

I am very new to this hobby. So new that I haven t set up my RSM yet. BY spending much time in these forums, I purchased a tunze skimmer, kor. powerhead and a new heater. Now, I have an RO system for drinking water in my home. My LFS "expert" says that it is will provide a water quality not suitable for a reef set up. He wasn t trying to sell me an RO, But, recommended I purchase one. I was planning on filling a bunch of bottles and always keeping them on hand. Is that ok? Does the local "expert" know what he's talking about?

Urchinhead

Yes. He does.

I was going to my LFS for water and suddenly had a *MAJOR* diatom outbreak. At first I thought it was caused by over feeding my corals (my bad for not reading the directions) but it persisted so I picked up a TDS meter and low and behold my supposedly RO water came in at a whopping 265 PPM!

I have been selling off corals to pay for an RO/DI and am looking at a typhoon unit because of the hardness of my water. On an RSM and depending on your water hardness you could get by with a mighty mite unit. As to ATO I would recommend the JBJ. Take a look at StevieT's RSM thread to see how he has his setup.

Lastly, throw out the RSM skimmer and spend the $150 on a Tunze 9002. I loved my RSM but hated the skimmer as do most people here.

I would find out what the water coming out of your RO reads for TDS. There are different membranes and I think they range from 90% rejection and up. Depending on what membrane you are using and what the initial TDS is and how well it is maintained (*) you might only need to add a DI cartridge to your system.