inTank Media Baskets

B-ionic?

surfy

I just started using B-ionic a day ago. My question is, if I get my cal/alk levels where I want them with this stuff, then do a weekly water change, what do I do?

Say I was using 5ml each day. Then I do a one gallon weekly water change, and it lowers my cal/alk levels. Do I just put in 5ml or do I gradually work it back up?

Who knows, maybe it won't lower my cal/alk levels when I do a water change.

I have never used this stuff before, as you can tell.

Just want to be on the safe side.

Thanks

ELGORDOINAVW

basically you dose the amount it takes to get it to he level you want it. if in the water change the levels go down slowly use b-ionic to raise it again.- cheers

What are the main differences in effect between Kalk/Lime and B-Ionic? I've read that they affect Calc/Alk and pH differently. i.e. B-Ionic part 1 raises only calc, and part 2 only alk, without changing the pH.... whereas with kalk/lime water, the pH is raised as well. I'm new to the whole dosing thing, and am weighing my options between these two different methods. B-Ionic seems to be pretty popular, but so does Kalk. What's a guy to do?

-moore

B-ionic will change the PH of your water. B-ionic is alot easyr to dose in small aquariums that don't have a whole lot of evap. Other people use kalk/pickeling lime and say it is easy, I have never used the stuff.

Calcium, Alkalinity and PH are different from eachother but they have a strong relationship with eachother. If you change one then you change the others.

Alk. is the measurement of water's ability to neutralize acids, or buffering capacity of the tank.

PH, is effected by a few things- poor water circulation, which alows acids to accumulate and will depress alkalinity. Nitrification can lower the PH due to Nitric acid. Also misapplication of calcium supplements.