inTank Media Baskets

New 30 Gallon Reef

armyfishnj

I am new to the SW arena and am putting together my own little nano-reef. I have decided to go with the 30 gallon long tank.(36in) I am asking for anyhelp with my new venture. I would like to set up the tank as naturally as possible and if at all have some fish possibly in the tank also.

Here's my setup as of right now....(No water in the tank yet!!)

30 Gallon long tank

Emporer 400 filter

2 Aquaclear 201 powerheads

Ebo-Jager 150W heater

Corallife Aqualight 192 W total( 96 Watts Actinic, 96 Watts 10,000K)

22 ponds live rock

Live sand( not too sure on depth of sand bed????)

Also what type of clean up crew am I looking at having in the tank. I've seen on the internet about a million different ideas on clean up crews...

Please help!!!!! I'm not sure if my p[lan is a good plan and if not what I need to do to change it.....

Where are you keeping the live rock and sand? if it's not in saltwater then it probably isn't live anymore. Snails and a magnet scraper are a good cleanup crew plus water changes.

I use astrea snails in my tanks, I like them.

Your setup sounds good to go. Fill it up with salt water, add the heater and powerheads wait a day or two, add the rocks and sand, hook up the HOB and start the cycle. Don't add any snails or livestock yet, after it has cycled then add some snails.

You don't need to run your lights while you cycle the tank.

I use a Emperor 180 sans Bio-Wheel on my 30L, you may be able to use a cheaper option as the biowheel just caused trouble. I also use a Prizm Skimmer, and the 96W light instead of 192. I add my cleanup crew as needed, dirty glass add a snail, dirty sand add a creature to address the issue.

westkyracer

Things you will need!

Salt, I use instant Ocean

More Live Rock atleast 1 Lb per Gallon and get some base rock and put your live rock on top of it.

Go ahead and buy your replacement bulbs while you don't need them!

Magnetic cleaners

Calcium buffer