inTank Media Baskets

Is high calcium a GOOD thing???

Flipturn88

Well this is a genuine newbie question, but I was wondering if really high levels of calcium are actually a good thing... wouldn't they be even more beneficial to corals, LR, etc? Sorry--please don't shoot me if I'm wrong!

~Kayla

From what I understand you are looking for a certain level of calcium, or at least a certain level helps the most. I'm not an expert though, so wait until someone that knows alot comes along.

Christopher Marks

It's best to keep it high, yes, but you shouldn't go much higher than 400 ppm. When it gets too high (600 ppm for example) the water will not be able to hold it and it will precipitate (Your tank will look like a snowy Christmas morning).

Well my tank definitely has somethinc coating it. But I thought it was a diatom bloom. Can diatom algae be an off-white color?

Also, if my tank is really high, is that harmful to my fish? Would it be harmful to corals?

Sorry, only one more question: how would I lower my calcium levels? Thanks for you help.

~Kayla

Well, put it into perspective for us by giving us a baseline: what is your current clacium level?

recommended levels of Ca are 400-450, and maintaining that level all depends on the livestock you have in the tank: you will need to suplpement more when your tank contains LPS, SPS, clams or calcerous algaes. These organisms pull the calcium out of the water column to build their skeletons and shells. Softies require much less.

Well my calcium test was giving me weird colors, so I went to the LFS guy. He used a brand new seachem kit and said my calcium was at 750 :o

If I add some mushrooms, do you think they would helpful in bringing the calcium levels down? Everything else checks-out fine. Would calcium that high be harmful to them or my fish? Thanks again.

~Kayla

Oh the dreaded calcium problem. Many a reefer have battled having too much calcium in their tanks. :P Just kidding.