SaltCritters.com

Triton live rock

JohnnyMTB

Seen a couple pics of the rocks they have, looks really nice. Anyone ever been there in person? I'm thinking about driving down there saturday if I can select my own rock. Any Gulf Coast people familiar with them. E-mailed them and haven't heard back yet.

Thanks,

john

I have no experience with them, and for some reason I'm scared to buy aquacultured, but their rock looks AMAZING:o Can we say, covered with purple coraline?!:happy:

I think I'll stick with my tried and true pacific rock, tho;)

What scares you about aquacultured? From what I read the rock is placed in the Gulf, seems it would be the same as the rock already there. I like the idea of all things aquacultured, especially tank raised specimens, less mortality and not actively depleting the natural resource. Have you had bad experiences with them?

OK, just heard back from the guy at Tropic Marine. They have over 4,000 lbs of keys rock and over 1,000 lbs of keys sand. I'm heading to Tampa saturday and getting my nano stocked up. Will try to find a digital cam and get some pictures up when the dust has settled. SWEET!

Originally posted by JohnnyMTB

What scares you about aquacultured?  From what I read the rock is placed in the Gulf, seems it would be the same as the rock already there.  I like the idea of all things aquacultured, especially tank raised specimens,  less mortality and not actively depleting the natural resource.  Have you had bad experiences with them?

two things....

1) They're denser. I know I'm talkin cheap here, but you get more rock per pound(hence, per $$$) with Pacific, usually.

2) I'm scared that maybe aquacultured are missing some of the natural elements found in actual reefs, (ie... bacteria, certain pods, uh, i dunno...)

maybe I'm off base, but those are the two main things: