Cultivated Reef

I need some help....

Somethingsfishy

Somethingsfishy

Hi Everyone nice to meet you all..Im starting a 10g Nano-reef or something this is my first time with saltwater. My setup I have includes...a whisper power filter a 10g glass tank...a new 10,000 light bulb(soon as I get one) and the tank is cycled in freshwater. Do you think i should dump all the water out then start over but keep the filter media in the whisper to help is cycle? I also don't have much money on my hands :blush: So I was looking for some cheaper corals and shrimp and other stuff...Is there any recommendations on some corals that are cheap and grow fast and are peaceful..I also could use a coral compadability list because I don't want the corals going offf and killing each other..lol What invedabrates should i avoid? plus what shrimp should I avoid? Well I guess that's all the questions for now :D Thanks for answering my questions!

Freshwater nitrogen cycle bacteria are not compatible with saltwater and vice versa. Start over. Cycle your tank with some live rock first, then worry about the livestock.

and READ A LOT OF CRAP!:o Get a beginners book for saltwater aquariums... saltwater isn't difficult, but it's a completely different realm than freshwater

Also, if you've ever used any medication in your freshwater tank I would not use it for saltwater. New 10g is $8.00 at Petsmart. At the top of this web page you'll see a link for "Information." Use it. It'll save you a lot down the road. I've been researching for over a month now, am somewhat experienced in saltwater, and will just be starting my cycling this weekend.

http://www.nano-reef.com/articles/?article=1 - Click that... it's a good starting place for beginners. Make sure to click the link in that article and read the natural filtration method article as well.