Pod Your Reef

red slime

bertz_maru

ok.. i have a 5.5 gal tank.. it has been up and running for almost a month. well when i put ls and lr rocks i began to cycle my tank.. well a few days has past then i started to get the red slime. (cyano) i did a search on this stuff here at NR... i found numbers of things on it... all the causes and all... well since then i started topping off with ro water, added a 10gal fuge, added macro, been doing 10% water change every week, added more hermits and more snails, i even stop my light cycle at one point, added carbon, changed my PC lights with brand new hellolights PC, bout to upgrade to a 70w mh, watching how much i feed my fish... hmmm... oh yeh and plus i have been taking it out with a turkey baster... but this stuff is crazy.. it doesnt go away... this is my first nano and im new to the hobby.. but this stuff makes me wanna quit the hobby... am i missing something? i know they have cyano killers but i dont have the money to buy it.. maybe someone here might have some left over to treat 20gals of water? or maybe im doing something wrong... ugh.. any one else having this problem? im asking for help at this point.... thanks

If your nitrates are high the algae blooms will be too. You can add maracyn to the water to kill the red slime. I use it on my 29g aga and my 5.5g aga and in 24 hours after using it all the red slime algae is gone. you just drop it in and it desolves in the water and starts killing the slime.