SaltCritters.com

red slime

bertz_maru

ok.. i have a 5.5 gal tank.. it has been up and running for almost a month. well when i put ls and lr rocks i began to cycle my tank.. well a few days has past then i started to get the red slime. (cyano) i did a search on this stuff here at NR... i found numbers of things on it... all the causes and all... well since then i started topping off with ro water, added a 10gal fuge, added macro, been doing 10% water change every week, added more hermits and more snails, i even stop my light cycle at one point, added carbon, changed my PC lights with brand new hellolights PC, bout to upgrade to a 70w mh, watching how much i feed my fish... hmmm... oh yeh and plus i have been taking it out with a turkey baster... but this stuff is crazy.. it doesnt go away... this is my first nano and im new to the hobby.. but this stuff makes me wanna quit the hobby... am i missing something? i know they have cyano killers but i dont have the money to buy it.. maybe someone here might have some left over to treat 20gals of water? or maybe im doing something wrong... ugh.. any one else having this problem? im asking for help at this point.... thanks :*( :o

Use Maracyn tablets if nothing else works. Marine tablets and fresh water maracyn tablets are the same thing as well. It is a fungus inhibitor for fish but also kills red slime algae.

I used Chemi-Clean from Fosters and Smith. That stuff is awesome cleared it all up in 2hrs and i've never had a problem with it again. Im running a 6gal also and I highly recommend the stuff. Safe for everything including invertibrates and corals.

No-cya-no. magical removal too.

however, the best way of removing the cyano is to syphon it out, adjust water flow so that there are less dead spots in the tank and see if that does the trick. reliance on chems is a bad thing in general (people too) but on a smaller scale it can cause major issues in much less time.

Dave Scheiner