Innovative Marine Aquariums

Argh, I'm back to the drawin board!

Flipturn88

Ahh! This has become so frustating! I had everything worked out. I would get a 30 gallon tank/stand, remora protein skimmer, 45 lbs of live rock from drmaccorals.com, etc. etc. Well, things didn't go as smoothly as planned.

I talked to the LFS manager who obviously knew a lot, but basically told me that because I am a newbie I NEED to get a tank that is MINIMUM of 55 gallons (and of course they had one on sale for mere 300 buck--including stand). Well, yeah I would have gone with it if that didn't meen more/bigger equipment, live rock, lighting, and considering all my money comes from babysitting, I don't have the regular income to continually dish out more and more money for equipment I'm not sure is even necessary. I had enought money for 30 gallons, but now I'm not sure if I'm really as ready as I should. If money wasn't an issue in my case, my story would change...

I guess my point is, is it possible for a newbie (who spends hours upon hours of research on her dream) to successfully run a 30 gallon tank??? This whole thing makes me wonder what I'm getting myself into....

Sorry I just really need someone(s) to vent to. All this time and effort CANNOT go to waste :*(

~Kayla

If I were there I would go kick your lfs manager in the gonads.

Let me tell you my story ... I have never had an aquarium of ANY type in my life (not even goldfish). I started a 12 gallon Eclipse reef tank and it's turned out pretty decent.

This stuff isn't rocket science, the 55 gallon argument is so old school it ridiculous, and that guy needs to visit nano-reef sometime to get a huge wake up call.

Build your 30 gallon and make it awesome!

My LFS told me the same thing. It was a kiddo working there, so I took his advice with a grin.

He told me little reef tanks are difficult to keep and I might end up killing everything.