Innovative Marine Aquariums

very urgent

arpanlib

hi,

i am new to reef tanks, and i have just got a tomato clown recently.

for the past two days it has been fine, but today it is just moving up 1 inch and then coming down one inch. very wierd. never seen him do this in the last two days.

he is also yourning like we do.

is there a problem with him, or is it the way they are??

thanx for the help.

arpanlib

have you tested your water? the yawning thing kind of bothers me. other than that clowns swim in funny patterns and do funny things. they will swim in awquard ways and do things you would never think a fish would do. so just test your water but other than that i think it is fine.

hi,

thanx for the quick help.

my water para s are:

salinity 1.023

nitrate 10 mg/l

nitrite less than .3 mg/l

water changes 15% every week.

the clown is eating fine, and is not behaving in any other wierd manner.

anyways, do let me know what u think.

arpanlib

how old is the tank? you still have nitrites? so im assuming the tank is fairly new. well the yawning could be from the trites but that low i doubt it. i think you should just continue on and i think everything should be fine...nay other opinions would help but i think everythihng will be ok as your tank stablizes. i keep my salinity around 1.025 and others will recomend that too but 1.023 is ok. what are your tanks specs?

hi,

thanx for the reply.

ya, the tank is new.

its just 8 days old.

the tank is 16 gallons

6 kg live rock

1 tantacle anemone

1 tomato clown

1 orange damsel.

eheim 2231 ecco for biologocal filteration

fluval 104 for mechanical filteration

1  150w 10k metalhalide.

1 air pump.

i follow water changes 15% a week.

is this enough?? or do i need to do more water changes????

also do tell me if i need to add suppliments like, calcium, strontium, trace elements, iodine etc.

thanx for the constant help.

arpanlib

NanoReefer53