SaltCritters.com

Best nano-reef book?

Steve-Ward.net

Steve-Ward.net

Anyone out there have a good suggestion for a good book for a beginning nano-reefer?

Mine's been up close to two months now and going great. I've learned so much, so I'm not a complete beginner, but still at the beginning stages.

I'm wondering if there is a good book or two out there I could read to help me along? I'm considering buying the Conscientious Aquarist, though wondering if it might prove to be limited in terms of the usefull information it can provide for a nano-reef aquarist.

Or, on the other hand, can all the info I need be found on the Internet?

I feel like I don't really need a book, but I would like to feel like I know what I'm doing a little bit more, and I read a lot of books, so it makes sense for me.

Thanks,

Steve

coming soon, to a book store near you, ESPI's reef keeping, complete with nano section.

I'd say the internet should give you plenty of info. This site being the best. Much of the stuff I have read is geared towards larger reefs and, while some of the info remains pertinent for tanks all sizes, some of it becomes less of an issue and other info is really nanocentric, in my opinion.

i think tullock's The Natural Reef Aquarium is the only book that really discusses setting up a nano (step-by-step). it's slightly dated (it doesn't even call it a nano) but it's a very good overall read and very good presentation of various possible biotopes. i'm giving my copy to my bro who's (re)starting out in SW/reef. a great book, nano-reefing or not imo.

calfo & fenner's new book has a good section on refugiums (too late dave X) ) but it can be loosely translated to nano setup imo. haven't completed the book though but it's a great (and most importantly, up-to-date) book so far.

like crak says, dave's "Reefing for Dummies" or is it "Micro-Marine Aquascaping" :P should be the next definitive nano resource. altho TRA III's coming out too. :

Steve-Ward.net