Top Shelf Aquatics

10-gal Nano-reef (without coral) :(

Perculanight

Perculanight

Hello,

I'm sure you've had plenty of posts just like this, so sorry about the predictability, but I had to run my 10-gal nano-reef plan by some people who know what they are doing (hopefully :happy: ).

I've been researching this tank for several years (I haven't felt ready until recently).

These are my tank specs:

-10-gal eclipse tank

-10lbs live bio-active argonite

-aiming for 10-lbs live rock (or more if it turns out budget allows) and about 5-10lbs dead rock

-25-watt heater

In this tank I'd like to keep a pair of A. Ocellaris, a scarlet cleaner shrimp, a blood red fire shrimp, a few snails (I'm going to see what the lfs's offer), dwarf-blue legged hermit crab, and maybe a few other small crabs. Inhabitants for the tank are stil being decided on, but that is pretty much the general idea!

Originally, I was going to keep a mushroom coral or two as first-time corals (I've never kept corals before) but I was (much to my disappointment) advised against it because of my aquarium system, which sadly includes integrated lighting not strong enough for corals. For the time being I cannot afford a seperate lighting system (and I'd like to keep my hood) since my finances are also divided with a new 50-gal lake Malawi cichlids tank I'm working on. Don't worry...I'm not setting them up at the same time...I am setting up a cichlid tank as my summer project and once that is going strong, I will have more time to focus on my nano-reef.

Anyway, since I've been deterred from keeping any inverts that rely partially on photosynthesis (:*( ) I can only keep fish and other invertebrates (crabs, snails, and shrimp).

I'm still researching filtration systems and deciding on which one would be opt to serve my purpose the best.