Cultivated Reef

Beginner here... I want to set up a nano reef. Help please.

ch0ch

First of all i would like to introduce my self as I am new to the board.. I currently have african cichlids and Ever since a friend of mine got a reef i've been very interested in it...

Now i dont have the cash to start a huge tank up so im lookin at a 5 gallon nano reef tank. Can you guys help me out and tell me what exactly would I need other then a glass 5 gallon tank? and it would really help if you could be specific...

for example I know I need lights, filters, powerheads, heaters, etc... but what kind do I need and what size? ???

P.S. Im planning on keeping stony corals, maybe even a clam if it is possible (?) and some polyps ... so maybe that will help answer my question for what kind of light bulbs I need.

hot damn, I just noticed that my name is spelled wrong on the link to my tank, may it rest in peace.

choch, hit those articles and do some research before you purchase a thing. no point starting until you know what you're in for and how much it will cost you.

Orange Crush

crak: actually your name is spelled wrong once, and correctly once. apparently chris was trying to make up for it by giving you more exposure

Well I read all of that... and it is good info. thank you. But I also wanted to know more about material needs like about what I mentioned.

what do you plan on keeping in the tank? this determines the lighting requirements. Don't skimp on lights as you will, invariably, be looking to upgrade them. It just happens.

I would say you need one aquaglobe powerhead and/or one hob filter (media removed) for water flow. lighting can be as low as a 13w powercompact or as high as metal halides if you so desire. You might need a chiller of some sort (or fans) if you go with any high watt lights.

You need live sand and live rock. Sand can be purchased anywhere and you can even get dead sand and find someone willing to throw a cup of their sand your way.