SaltCritters.com

high alkalinity

kidrobot

hi guys is there any way to lower alk in my tank im using pre mixed water from my LFS

ph 8.2

ammonia 0

nitrite 0

nitrate 0

alk 13.8dkh

all i have right now is CUC because of ich from the clowns i bought then died after 2 weeks :( did everything i could to save them..and also i returned my firefish to my LFS...its been 2weeks without any fish right now..i feel sad looking at the tank with no fish :(

do not freak out, you are just fine, it will come down on it's own in the 90's we shot for 13 dkh

what test kit are you using.

how about your calcium and magnesium... if your mg is low you may percipitate, no biggie but try to avoid it as yoou clog pumps

im using salifert for alk..im going to buy a calcium test kit and mag. the calcium test kit i got from red sea is cr#$$#py...i just retested my alk im trying to get used to this and it came out acctually 14.4dkh im a total noob i didnt know what i was doing at first it took me 4 times for me to understand the instructions...lol smack on the head...

the rs will sufice for the time being, get a mg before you upgrade your ca, or get them both shipped form MD for the same price you would pay at your LFS FOR 1

Are you dosing anything like Purple Up or a 2 part like B-Ionic or anything like this? If you are, stop. The alk will come down with time and you will probably need to dose some calcium to get the 2 balanced. Get these 2 balanced and stable and then worry about the Mg. You need good test kits before taking this all on though. I am using the Seachem test kits. They come with a reference and are pretty easy to use. The Mg takes a while, but you don't need to test it as often. Using a good 2 part or kalkwasser is really the only way to get and keep your ca and alk at the levels you want them at. Here is a link to an awesome calculator that will tell you how much to dose and such depending on what supplements you are using. http://reef.diesyst.com/ Good luck.