Innovative Marine Aquariums

c-o-m-p-l-e-t-e newbie here

chinaboy1021

chinaboy1021

i've been browsing these forums for months now. i have experience with fresh water. i've read too many posts and now im confused.

anyways, i know what it takes to "care" for a nano reef. but i still have no idea about the basics that it takes to set-up a nano.

i just got some very basic questions that might be considered obvious, but here goes:

1) is it possible to do a FOWLR nano?

2) are the fishless cycling procedures same as Fresh water?

3) what fish can i keep in a 10 gallon except clown fish (clowns must have anomene to host right)

4) what kind of chemical additives do i have to add to R/O water?

5) is there such thing as KH, GH with SW? what do they need to be at. also how do i maintain a ph for 8.5 (right?)

these questions might lead to other questions, is there a basic guide on setting up a nano somewhere on the web?

my shopping list consists of (i must have left out something):

5-10 gallon

lighting

heater

hydrometer

AC 300 (already have, good for refuge and current?)

salt mix.

r/o water

LR

DSB (what kind?)

thanks a lot for reading.

you're a not-so-complete newbie ;)

a lot of the FW stuff can be translated here. i learned the FW from my bro and now that nemo and his own daughter have worn him down, i'm going to re-teach him SW. i'm gonna ease him into it with the FOWLR.

the only thing i would add (subtract) to/from your list is the DSB. unless you're going for a 15H or 20XH the DSB takes away a lot of viewing area. there's a lot of debate on that subject in general but that's for research and another thread.

chinaboy1021

i was thinking of a 15 gallon.

it's a 20Lx18Hx12W tank.

what else should i use as substrate other than DSB? the problem is that my LFS dont carry LS

that's the 15H. my new office nano is the same. my bro really likes it because it has the smallness of a nano but the viewing of a big tank.