Coral Vue Hydros

Winter's 10 Gallon Nano

Winter

Ok guys, I've been browsing this board for several months now, learning about nano tanks and generally being a nuisance in the lounge B). So I figured it is time for me to pony up and post a pic of my newly restarted 10 gallon nano.

My first 10 gallon was unceremoniously destroyed when my landlord bug bombed my apartment without telling me before hand. :angry: I tried to complain, but after re-reading my lease, I discovered it was futile.

With out further ado or whining:

CloudyTankBig.jpg

As you can see it is quite milky right now as It was just set up not 2 hours ago :happy:. BTW I think it was Crakeur on a post somewhere that suggested using plastic wrap over the sand when adding water. Excellent idea as it worked like a charm. I can't imagine what the tank would have looked like right now if I hadn't gone that route.

Specs. on the new 10G:

Edit: 85w PCs - one 10K (36w) two true actinic (36w and 13w)

Custom DIY hood (purchased from Ross when he got rid of his nano)

2 to 2-1/2" deep southdown sand bed

penguin mini-HOB filter (minus bio-wheel and filter media)

Mini-jet 606

Marineland 100w heater (I have a 100w ebo jager but no suction clips to mount it with yet.)

Using Instant Ocean Salt and Water Island RO/DI water from Kroger.

*Live rock to come in about a week from premium aquatics. I'm thinking about 12 lbs of uncured marshall island.

Planning on keeping an assortment of corals including GSP, zoos xenia, frogspawn and rics.

Also planing for either 2 true percs (might be pushing it on bioload) or one true perc and a yellow watchman goby.

I will post more pics here in the future an at my new website once it is up and running.

Comments, flames, advice all welcome.

Winter ;)