SaltCritters.com

55 Gallon Setup Help and Questions!?

Vertigo

I am getting a 55 Reef Ready tank (meaning that it has been drilled with a built in surface skimmer from All Glass Aqua) I am going to build my own stand and I want to put in my LR and LS from my 12 gallon and 20 gallon on over into it. I am thinking about water and all. Like I said I am only buying the tank only! Here is my questions:

I have a 150 MH light that I want to use will this be enough for the tank alone?

I am new to the drilled hole things and I dont know where to start? I want to save money where ever and I have a 10 gallon tank sitting around can I turn that into a sump or Fug? What would it help? I dont want to run any filter systems at all! Advise Please. Any links with pic or Vids?

Thanks everyone I am looking forward to the replys and wish me luck!

if its the standard 55, it'll be 48" wide and I wouldn't advise a single 150 because it won't cover the edges of the tank to well. But then again if your going with some rock and fish you'll be fine, it really depends on what your end goal is. You could turn a 10 gallon into a sump but once again I would advise against it because of the lack of space in a 10 gallon. There are many links of people with larger tanks that would give you could ideas on where to start, just make it porportionaly smaller based on your tank.

HecticDialectics
I am getting a 55 Reef Ready tank (meaning that it has been drilled with a built in surface skimmer from All Glass Aqua) I am going to build my own stand and I want to put in my LR and LS from my 12 gallon and 20 gallon on over into it. I am thinking about water and all. Like I said I am only buying the tank only! Here is my questions:

I have a 150 MH light that I want to use will this be enough for the tank alone?