Coral Vue Hydros

Iodine levels read zero

kappa

This is the first time I have tested for Iodine in my three years of nano reefing. The levels read 0ppm Iodide & 0 ppm Iodate.

I was shocked to know about this, and started to dose iodine with Salifert Iodine. I don't know if the Salifert Iodine will work though, so I might switch over to another product, like WM.

Corals like the hardy Xenias, yellow polyps, and certain lps and soft corals always died in my system.

I switched over to Tropic Marine salt a few months ago in hopes for better trace elements. So far, I don't think it's any better than Instant Ocean.

Kappa

IMO, Regular TM is no better than IO. Try the reef formula of either brand, they're both good. Either Reef Crystals from the makers of IO, or TM Pro Reef. They're a bit more, but worth it.

I'm no expert, but i remember reading that Iodine (Iodide/Iodate) is absorbed very quickly in closed systems, and can be rather hard to test for. Lemme try and look that back up...

Well, I found this article:

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/mar2003/chem.htm

Which does mention that Iodine gets absorbed quickly and converted six ways from sunday by various processes, making it hard to test for, but doesn't really go into why.

Here's a quote from Randy Holmes-Farley:

I do not presently dose iodine to my aquarium, and I do not recommend that others do so, either. Iodine dosing is much more complicated than dosing other ions due to its substantial number of different naturally existing forms, the number of different forms that aquarists actually dose, the fact that all of these forms can interconvert in reef aquaria, and the fact that the available test kits detect only a subset of the total forms present.
Maybe a limited test kit is why you're reading 0.00ppm.

I found this here: http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2007-04/rhf/index.php#17