Innovative Marine Aquariums

Clueless about R/O Systems

beball504

Okay...I've never heard of R/O until I read the forums in this site. I'm just starting to learn about R/O... so will anyone be kind enough to give me some hints or recommendations on some good R/O systems that won't hurt my pocket? Is it really necessary or will I be able to raise my fish off just tap water? Any suggestions and/or comments are greatly appreciated.

Billdemart

Hey there beball,

I am a newb to this forum, and a newb to Nano-reefing but I have had several saltwater aquariums and I would say tap water is a BIG no-no. Especially with the sensitivity of some corals/reefs.

Algae of all sorts of beautiful (sarcasm) colors will become a huge problem eventually if you use tap water. I would advise against it highly.

You can get an RO/DI unit at any LFS or probably cheaper online and I will do some research about which one you want if you would like. It's going to be based on your budget. They can get pretty pricey but like I said they are pretty important.

I started my first saltwater tank with tapwater because I was a noob and didn't do any research :o

I ended up with some hellacious algae problems, but I had some hardy damsels so they survived just fine.

Before I got an RO/DI unit I bought RO water from the grocery store. This got to be a pain in the neck although for a Nano reef it might be easier. I had a 55 gallon tank that evaporated like mad.

It's all up to you though. My opinion is DON'T use tap water.

Good luck!

Bill

chvynva916

I just bought a 4-stage RO/DI unit from www.aquaticreefsystems.com for $140. That is dirt cheap. I bought a TDS meter (measuring the crap in a water). The water from the unit is roughly 50x "cleaner" than the RO stuff I was buying from the store and roughly 200x cleaner than my tap water. If this is a hobby you plan on continuing in the long run, you'll eventually want one.