Pod Your Reef

Did I kill my LR?

nut.meg

Hey - I'm very very new to nano-reefing. I have a question about how sensitive LR is.

I set up my tank, arranging the LR first and then adding fresh conditioned water so I could mix the salt in the tank, since there's no livestock yet. There's a powerhead and filter in the tank to circulate, so the salt dissolved very quiclky, but would all of this have damaged my LR?

If so, what should I do to bring it back - if it can be brought back?

Cheers

Meg

No you didn't kill it but you did hurt it. You never want to mix water like that. You always want to mix the water outside of the tank in a seperate container. You killed quite a bit of bacteria but live rock is amazingly durable and hardy.

Since it's a new tank the tank cycle will be a little longer in my opinion due to the dieoff that the freshwater caused but everything should recover. I'd recommend highly never to do that again:D.

Good luck, Cameron

the 'live' in the LR should be fine. the bene bacteria exists everywhere in the world so even if you dumped the whole thing into a vat of bleach and then rinsed it off to re-introduce into the tank, eventually it would re-seed itself with the bene bacteria again. this is the whole concept behind bio-pore and other 'surface area' filtration products and the basis of the bacterial filtration of LR. there also is a microfauna filtration concept but you don't have to know that for the exam. :P

the coralline, if any, would've have been the party to suffer more. sprung notes a sensitivity of coralline to salinity changes. honestly, i've never noticed it myself as i used to fresh mix or even pour salt directly into the system (sump area at least :blush:, but i still do on rare occasions to correct salinity for some odd reason). i also still top off directly into the sump area with an auto top-off from physh1. it seems to affect the coralline a little but not too dramatically imo.