inTank Media Baskets

New to nanos, and I have some Qs.

polojunk

Hey

I have been reading alot about reef keeping in the last few days, but I still have some questions. I am planning on getting a ten gallon tank with LS and LR. I want to get 2 Percula clownfish. I also want to get some corals of course, and some anenomies. Also planning on getting a HOB filter.

1)What kind of PC lighting would be good for this? and where can I buy a hood for this lighting, and where can I buy PC lights?

2)After I have everything set up, how long should I put a damselfish in there before its done cycling? Can I put the damselfish in the tank the day after I set it up?

3) After I have the tank cycled, what do I do next? Get corals, then fish? I know I have to add livestock slowely. Do I have to feed corals?

4) how many powerheads? How strong should they be?

Lots of questions, I know. I have been keeping freshwater for a few years now, so I'm not totally clueless as to aquariums.B)

My advice is to read, read, read.

Lighting- a 10 gallon leaves you many choices....try www.ahsupply.com and www.hellolights.com for the lighting choices. Hellolights has an awesome deal on a CSL 96watt quad for $100, and that would sit on a glass top. There is a thread around here somewhere on that lighting system and it looks very nice. You could also use 2x36 watt kits. I would think you are looking at about $100 for the lighting.

Cycling- every tank is different. If you go the fish route let the tank run for a good 24-48 hours and make sure the water is good before you introduce a fish into the system. If you use a fish, it will be HARD to get out with all the live rock. Another option is doing a fishless cycle. There is an article on the site about the different cycling options.