Top Shelf Aquatics

LFS Ethics-What Would You Do?

rperrice

Hi All,

My 7-gal AGA has been running for a month and everything is going well or so I think. I wanted to start safe, so two-or-so weeks ago I made two purchases at my LFS, one rock with a lot of brown mushrooms and a green mushroom and a rock with some star polyps. Also bought some blue hermits and astrea snails. I am new to the hobby and I did not realize that on the rock with the mushrooms there was some bubble algae. I just thought it was another type of live rock growth. The LFS owner did not say anything about it either. It wasn't until a few days later after reading the boards that I found out bubble algae is not good. The bubbles are small, but they seem to be slowly increasing in number, however its just on this rock with the mushrooms.

My questions to any who would answer are: should I return the rock/mushrooms to the LFS and ask for an exchange or should I deal with the issue myself? I do have corals coming tomorrow from Marine Depot Live and also a Emerald crab, which I read eats bubble algae. Was it ethical for this LFS owner to sell me something which might be bad for my tank and should I deal with him any more? Is all bubble algae bad? Thanks.

Sorry, one more question: Know any good LFS around Westchester County, New York?

harbingerofthefish

If it was on there to begin with than it buyer beware. Of couse I've had algae grow form some frag rocks, and it wasn't noticablly there when I got it.

I don't think its something to go to the LFS and complain about. Sure it's bad for your tank, but hopefully you can deal with it before it gets out of hand.

bubble agae (valonia [sp?]) is bad. I've had a few spots, but they never spread, knock on wood.

It's possible that the corals you have coming will also have some type of algae on them. They may have pruned it but it's a part of the hobby.