Cultivated Reef

to skim or not to skim? ...and more Q's

chiliaddik

chiliaddik

OK..newbie here with a couple questions...ok, maybe a lot of Q's...OK, maybe this is gonna be a book....

I have:

10 gal. tank - converted from fresh to salt

65W PC lighting - just got on tank today

glass top

20 lb. live sand

8 lb. live rock - just got this in there 2 days ago

4-5 lbs. base rock - been there since day 1

ebo jager heater 50w

a small powerhead - Mini-Jet 404

1 hermit crab

and a junk filter - currently with a replaceable filter in it, but I cut the top of the filter and threw out the carbon, replaced with marineland carbon for now... seems to be working...(didn't want to leak phosphates) I can't get marineland replacement filters for this particular "filter" - it's a walmart junkie

OK...I started this tank over a month ago, however, just got my 65w PC lights in today (Coralife - Aqua Lights) (Had been running the hood that came with tank with 2 Coralife 50/50 10w bulbs in it for the time being)

Hydrometer says 1.017-1.019 most days..it's a pc. of crap, waiting on an in-tank floating hydrometer to get here next week.

I have been testing my water almost daily..some days it's good, some days it's not...

When I do water top-off, my pH always drops...I use strictly RO water only.

How can I keep my pH more balanced???

How do I keep my nitrates more balanced? Some days it's .25, others it's 0.

My nitrates are staying below 30 for now

Ammonia is 0.

I do water 20% changes religiously every week...water quality jacks up every time I do it.

Should I buy a skimmer? Do I have to have one? I have been looking and I am stuck between a few different ones, but I want something small and not too powerful...I guess I have to look for one to hang on the back, since I don't have a lot of room inside and my glass hood will only allow about a 1.5 inch opening. I don't want to spend a huge amount of money here...something under $50 preferrably.