Pod Your Reef

Hi, new to reef tanks, need info plz :)

WorldNation

WorldNation

Hello everyone. I'm new to saltwater tanks, but I'm an old hobbiest of freshwater. I've had fish tanks since i was 7 yrs old, (18 now), ive had everything from gold fish, to cchlids. currently have a 100 gall African Cichlid Tank, mostly mbuna, but i got a few rare fish in there as well. I've bread all liverberer, angels, bettas, gouramies and danios(by accident).

Anyways, i know pretty much everythting about freshwater tanks, but hardly nythign about saltwater, and thats why i'm here.

To get into saltwater, and not spend a ######load of money, i have decided to set-up a nano-reef tank. tell me if my idea is sound.

I have a 10 gallon tank i want to convert into a small nano-reef tank. (thats without fish right?).

I'm gonna buy some of that live sand(about 10 lbs, i dont wanna have a thick layer of it), set it into the 10 gallon, mix in the salt and water in a seperate bucket, fill up the tank, put in a penguin powerhead 550(140 gal/hr) for water flow, and after a week add some live pacific coral.

then, if thats good, i have a couple q's.

- Would a sponge filter atatchment to the powerhead make a difference?

-does the coral need liquid food supliments?

- what type of lighting would u recommend for a lightl coral tank? and for a massivly packed coral tank?

- is there a rule for amount of coral/ gallon of water? if so, waght is it, mainly for pacifics?

- I want to fill up the whole backside of the tnak with corals, liek a wall, that sound alright in a 10 gallon tank?

- what should the salinity/ or gravity or how its called be in the water for a small nanoreef tank?

- if i plan on ever adding 1 or 2 (probably jsut one) damsel's, will i have to purchas anything in addition, such as a whole filter unit? or will the sponge filter adapter be sufficiant?

-do you guys have any recommandations on types of starter corals, specific names or areas, or anything like that?