inTank Media Baskets

My First Nano

Kassun

I am new to nano's. I have a:

- Mini 7 gal bowed

- Penguin Bio-Wheel Mini

- 75Watt htr

I want a natural reef. So I think I need to get in addition to what i already have; a good powerhead, 2 to 3 inches of live sand, and about 5lb of live rock. I'm not sure about what lighting to go with.

To up keep I believe I will have to do a 10 to 15% water change weekly.  I have read a ton of info and here is what I think I need to get up and running. I'm not sure what inverts to get. I would greatly appreciate any help you guys can offer. Also if I have left any thing out pls give me an idea on what it will cost.

Thanks,

Kassun

printerdown01

Everything looks good!! Nice research... but I have the same question as NanoReefer53 and that is lights?  This is probably the most debated thing in nanos!  I'm not that familiar with 7 gallon tanks... What are the dimentions (for suggestions about lighting)?

Thanks for the feedback. Here is what I decided to go with;

11 gal Via-Aqua w/2x13 PC's

Rio 180

Ebo Jager 50w

20 lbs of LS

12lbs of LR

My water has been mixing now for 14hrs so i am getting close to setting up. wooohooo  :)

I'll post some pics in a few days.

printerdown01

Make sure you watch the temp at night, with the smaller heater... BlueHorseShoe is changing over to a 75W from a 50W 'cause it is having problems maintaining temp at night in her 7 gallon... Her post is under the topic "1st try on 2nd nano." Might want to check it out. Everything else looks great (and you might be JUST FINE with a 50W)!

• 2 weeks later...

And how... I have a 100w on my 12 gal. Don't worry if you already got that puny little heater wet already. It comes in handy in a five gallon bucket (along w. a small powerhead) for mixing your water. This is a great way to change your water in a way that doesn't stress the livestock, which is ideal since this procedure is performed on a weekly basis.