SaltCritters.com

Total Newbie Help

cuteios

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and the nano reef. I've been reading a lot of literature online on the basics of marine fish keeping and tank setup and maintenance and am starting to feel confident enough to attempt my first nano tank. I'm just having a difficult time deciding which one of my two spare tanks to use for this endeavor. I have a couple of 35 gallon fresh water tank setups, but I have a spare 5.5 and 10 gallon that I'm trying to pick from for my first try.

For starters I want to try and culture the live sand from dead sand which is readily available around here. I live in the philippines so am relatively close to the ocean and would not have a difficult time obtaining water from the local reef...I think there's one less than 2 km away...so I guess water won't be a problem as well as live rock...but the local stores don't really carry live sand. I'm not sure how to start the cycling process for culturing live sand since the additives I keep reading about aren't so easy to get from where I live. And I'm pretty much going to be working on this blind since last time I checked the test kits would cost more than all my equiptment at local prices I'm on a very tight budget. So I guess the real question is what would be a good start for someone like me?

Cuteios

you've got a great advantage over most of us so i think you'll be fine. first, you just need to dump in the sand to start the cycle. i'd do the rock and sand together since you'll be cycling from scratch anyway.