Cultivated Reef

Whats the best algae cleaner?

chex

And if you go with snails, I'd recommend nassarius and cerith snails. Cerith snails eat algae. Nassarius snails eat detritus, which if left unchecked leads to algae. The bonus is they are sand sifters. They'll stir up your sandbed which should help with the algae in your sandbed. I've had great luck with both types of snails.

thank you both, good insite. I was also wondering if it was ok to mix live rock. I wanted to get mostly fiji and so a couple pieces on tonga branch. is that cool?

I have no personal experience with it, but I've heard mention that mixing live rock from different places can give a greater diversity of life in your tank due to different hitchhikers. If nothing else, I can't see how it could be detrimental. Live rock is live rock. If you want to do it, and you like how it looks, knock yourself out. It's your tank. :)

harbingerofthefish

ditto on Pink_Mist...add what looks good to you. We have samll tanks and every little addition can add or subtract to the overall apperance. Besides, when you start buting frags, most will come on some type of LR. If you want the attached coral you can't be to picky as to what it's attached to, so your going to end up with a mix anyway.

coralreefengr

I actually have more than 2 species of snail in my nano. Different ones have different benefits. Ceriths go in the sand and eat cyano. I don't have any nassarius. I do have some strombus grazers. Neither of these 2 do a very good job on the glass. For that job, I have Hawaiian Turbos, Margarita, and Astrea. I actually have 2 different varieties of cerith, as well.