Pod Your Reef

Planning cleanup crew for my 20 gallon

eschaton

I'm a saltwater newbie who's 20 gallon is currently cycling. I lucked out with my LR and got a number of good scavengers, including mini-brittlestars, bristleworms, and a few Stomatella. I've been planning out the rest of my CUC, and these are my ideas.

Snails:

Trochus (or possibly tectus)

Nerites

Ceriths

Money Cowrie

Nassarius

Bubble shells if I can find them

Crustaceans:

Porcelain Crabs

Sexy Shrimp

There's a number of other things I'm interested in including, including Chitons, the Yellow Cucumber, a few small hermits, the Emerald Mithrax, Peppermint Shrimp, Cleaner Shrimp, etc...but I've researched and they all seem like bad choices. I purposely didn't include Turbo (don't want rockwork bulldozed) and Astrea (don't want to have to right fallen snails forever).

So, any feedback?

I started w/ a 20L and asked the same question, Neanderthalman gave me the following advice which I found to be sound:

The best way to think about your cleanup crew is to define different jobs in your tank.

I look at

Film Algae

Detritivores

Sand Sifters

as the three areas that you need to cover. For film algae, there are a number of snails that do a great job. Most snails are good for film algae, most notably Astrea, Turbo, and I beleive also Stomatella, Trochus, Conch, and Nerite snails are all film algae eaters. I'd go with 3 or 4 snails of this type.

For detrivores, I honestly don't think you can beat blue leg hermits. Some people complain about hermits, but I love 'em. I find they do a great job of picking algae and detritus off of rocks, and don't bother my corals or kill my snails. I'd go with maybe 4 of them, or two blue legs and one larger crab like a scarlet hermit.