Have I got enough lighting?

bwings

Hi,

I know this should be in the lighting forum but nobody seems to

post there!

I have a Juwel Lido aquarium (l00 litres) and have always

had lighting issues because of the dimensions of the tank

(18" bulbs). But yesterday I decided to double up the lighting

by piggy backing an extra bulb to the existing mount.

So I now have 2 x 18" 10,000k bulbs, and 1 x 18" 50/50.

My question being, is this adequate enough lighting to maintain

a reef tank of this size? Or should I also piggyback the rear

bulb and if so what other type of bulb should I introduce?

thanks in advance

b

i'm no expert on this but i think what you're gonna need to know is how much wattage is in those bulbs for us to safely say if you've got enough light....as far as the temperature and color spectrum of the bulbs, you're fine on that end....

someone correct me if i'm wrong here...but hope this helps :happy:

Sorry!

I think they're 15w... thats the only wattage

coralife make for the 18w bulbs as far as I know.

So I've got

2 x 15w 10,000k coralife

and

1 x 15w 50/50 coralife

over a 20" wide 100 litre tank with a fluval 304, prizm skimmer,

internal fluval 4 and a power head.

with 20% RO every fortnight.

would this be sufficient for maintaining a small reef tank?

thanks for your help !

b

Bwings et al.,

For the Yankees here 100L=approximately 25 gallons..slightly more..maybe 29 (thinking out loud in a post..bad idea)