Coral Vue Hydros

Qt help!

Abraham1907

Ok, my wrasse has some stuff on it's mouth area, and I don't really know what it is. He is hiding and not coming out to eat or anything. He just sits in a little rock crevace. When I was doing tank maintainance this morning he got scared when my hand was near him and swam out and just sat on the sand. I have never seen him just sit there before. After a little while he swam back into a crevace and won't come out.

He obviously needs to be qted, and I have an extra 3 gallon tank sitting around for him. I have never done a qt before, so I have some questions. Should I use RO water or will tap be ok? Normally I use RO for my main tank, but since there are no corals in the qt, I don't see why tap wouldn't be ok. Secondly, should I use half new water and half tank water? What medicine should I treat with if I don't know what it is? Is there one that treats everything? (I will take a picture once he is in the qt to id it) Lastly, how often should I do water changes? There is an undergravel filter on the tank which I plan on using (Although the tank will be bare bottom so i guess it's really not undergravel).

Ok, my wrasse

what species?

has some stuff on it's mouth area,

what kind of "stuff"? white, cottony, filmy, cauliflower-y?

When I was doing tank maintainance this morning he got scared when my hand was near him and swam out and just sat on the sand. I have never seen him just sit there before. After a little while he swam back into a crevace and won't come out.

They are cryptic my nature, so depending on the species this may be semi-normal to stress related.

He obviously needs to be qted, and I have an extra 3 gallon tank sitting around for him.

not near large enough for a QT tank. can you get a 10 gallon instead? it's easier to maintain the water quality and dose meds ina 10.

I have never done a qt before, so I have some questions.

another reason to use a 10. smaller tanks will be much much more difficult.