Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Live Rocks question.......

BlueTurq

Quick question from a newbie here...... How long can a live rock be out of the water before the living organisms starts dying off.....

Thanks

Stuff starts dying immediately I imagine. Things sensitive to temp changes, etc...some bits dry faster than others....

So the answer is, the longer you leave it out, the more stuff dies. I wouldn't leave it out of water more than a few minutes normally. During shipping it's out of water but sealed in a humid environment that should somewhat protect it.

Heather,

thank you for your response, the reason I ask, I was over our lfs and they just recieved new shipments of live rock. They were in boxes without any water. They must have been there in the 2-3 days. One guy told me its ok to leave them without water for weeks as long as they are not dried up. Again, Im just a newbie and trying to find out whats going on.

Thanks

I agree, I don't think weeks or even days would be a good idea to leave them out of water.

Even when uncured live rock is cured by collectors, it's still under a constant saltwater spray.

But you have to look at what happens in real life, also. Tides ebb leaving rock uncovered for hours at a time and most of the organisms survive, although they may have a higher tolerance for air since it's at shore level.

I would definately not purchase the rock from that lfs. When I bought my live rock, it was wrapped in wet newspaper and put in a garbage bag, and transporting it home was about an hour and I've had very little die off.

Alanna

Edge4Krusher20