Coral Vue Hydros

White spots on Royal Gramma

reefjeff

I have a 12 gallon nano cube. I had one small maroon clownfish and a royal gramma. First the clownfish started getting some spots on it. I took him back to the lfs and he quarentened him for a few weeks. The clown died. I decided to replace the clown yesterday with a small six line wrasse. My royal Gramma didn't take kindly to him. He chased him all around the tank. Today I noticed the Royal Gramma has white spots along his body. Will he spread an infection to the other fish? Does this cycle just continue and I will kill off any fish I put into the tank?? My tank has coral in it. I also have a small shrimp goby. I'm not quite shure what to do. I'm new to the hobby and I only have one tank.

Do a search for Cryptocaryons irritans or marine ich. Briefly, yes it is contagious. To treat it you need to quarantine the fish. It takes about 6 weeks with no fish in the tank for the parasite to die off. Your fish may be able to fight off the infestation on their own, but I wouldn't count on it.

My experience with Ich...minimize stress and feed high quality/variaty food and it will dissapear. Technically, you probably can quarantine and let the parasite go through its life cycle and die in your tank. I personally think that there will always be ich in almost any tank, but a healthy fish can fight it off. Good luck.

the six line is picking on him which is stressing the fish. Is the six line biting his fins? This could possibly be a cause of the outbreak.

Just the opposite, the Royal Gramma is picking on the six line.

My experience with Ich...minimize stress and feed high quality/variaty food and it will dissapear. Technically, you probably can quarantine and let the parasite go through its life cycle and die in your tank. I personally think that there will always be ich in almost any tank, but a healthy fish can fight it off. Good luck.

I agree.