Coral Vue Hydros

How much light do I really need on a 10g???

Tim Currie

Ok, first post here...

I want to set up my 10g as a nano reef in the future. I will go with PCs, but unsure exactly what or how many watts. Can I do ok with a 32w pc light and sustain most or many corals? Or do I really need to get 2 X 32w lights? Or should I go with a single 96watt strip like this http://www.hellolights.com/201xcoaqpcho.html ??

I dont wanna spend too much money on this. And if I get a hood like the above link, do I get some type of glass cover for the top? Or does it just sit on the top of the tank by itself? I currently have no enclosed hood. Which is why I was also looking at http://www.ahsupply.com/finished_enclosures.htm

and then mounting their lights on the inside...

What do you all think?

I dont care about anything extreme like clams or any other very high light needing things cause I cant afford that much light. Any help is great.

Also I am really new at this lighting thing and have no experience with assembling them or the terms yet...

Spend the extra cash now and get as much light as you can fit on it. You will not regret it later when you are admireing a certain coral that requires high lighting. It is virtualy impossible to give corals to much light. Save the low light species .

gixxerryder

Putting two 36 w PCs on there would prolly be good , i know where you can get a ballast for 25$ , ill post the link when i get home from work 8am ish EST.

That $25 will actually run 4 36w bulbs but its able to run only two as well.. good for growing situations , about 5 different bulb configurations available on it all the way up to a 96w , pretty nice for the price if you ask me , ive had it 2 months and great results so far.

gixxerryder

Here is the link to the ballast i was telling you about ...

CHEAP A$$ BALLAST

Its model number WH5-120-Long Case