Innovative Marine Aquariums

new guy many questions

offsprg01

ok i'm new to the reef thing and i want to go slow so i don't kill anything. one of my pet peeves is having fish die. right now i keep a few fresh and many many brackish tanks. primarilary i keep wierdo fishes (oddballs). i have been intrested in starting up a salt water tank for a very long time. but have put it off becuase i felt i did not yet have the experience to start up a nano reef as i have been told it's quite difficult. i live in the doorms so the biggest tank i can have is ten gallons. one reason why i'm intrested in a nano. i would like to know waht you guy recomend for type and wattage of lights, i have two 125 watt daylight florescent bulbs i'd like to use if this is adaquate.

also what kind of filtration i should use. i know the articles sections reccomends using a natrural method but i just can't convince myself to use only that. i'd prefer to do both as i'm a stickler for over filtration.

as far a setting up the tank, idealy what i'd like to do is start out with sand and live rock. and let the sand become live sand over time. if this is possible how long will it take? i want to go this route becuase the smallest bag of live sand i can find if 50lbs. way to much for a ten gallon tank.

i don't want to put any corals, fish or clean up critters until the sand has become life (if that is possible) . i'd like to start out with hardy species of both fish and coral, so i'm intrested in hear which ones you've had the best luck with.

anyother information would be much appreciated. thanks in advance.

coralreefengr