Coral Vue Hydros

Tell me what you think...

kryptonite

This is my 15gal that I started on 03/01/02.  So far I have a false percula, a bi-color blenny, an emerald crab, a coral banded shrimp, a peppermint shrimp, a orange knobby star, 6 astreas, and 6 blue legged hermits.  The only coral that I have so far is the green star polyps pictured below.  I have a few pieces of dead coral, about 20 lbs of live rock (15 from fiji, and the other 5 from the marshall islands.)  I also have 20 lbs of live sand and a few lbs of crushed shells on top.

My lighting consists of a diy hood holding 2 40w vho's, one actinic white and one super actinic blue.  1 36w pc 50/50 retrofit kit, and one 15w 20,000k bulb.  I really really want to try to keep some sps's.  Tell me what you think and give me any suggestions you may have.  I am also open to constructive critisism... I am new to this hobby so please teach me something.  Here are some pics...thanks.

starfish2.jpg

critters2.jpg

center2.jpg

starpolyps&blenny2.jpg

wholetank3.jpg

wholetank4.jpg

Here are a few pics of the hood/canopy.  This is the best I could do for now.  Yes that is aluminum foil...haha.  The pc retro and the normal output are in the back. you can see half of the pc.  I'm not using the 2 vho's until my fan gets here.  I tried today and my tank went from 78 to 83 with all the lights on.  By the way, since i'm only putting in one fan should it blow onto the lights or be used as an exhaust.  

Thanks...here are the pics

hood1.jpg

hood2.jpg

hood3.jpg

NanoReefer53

I don't think you need the foil with URI bulbs. They have internal reflectors already. Another thing is the fans for exhaust. As a neighbor reefer of mine said, if you use it for and exahust, you'll pulling out salt laden air. Because of that, you're fan bearings/metal parts will rust a whooollee lot faster so it's better just to have 2 blowing in and have the back of vent holes on top where the hot air can escape.