Top Shelf Aquatics

sketching a plan

susan695074

susan695074

Ok, like all beginners, I have come up with a plan and would like to see what people think about it. At this point, I'm trying to figure out what I want in my tank and then decide most of the equipment from there. I do have a 55 salt and mutiple fresh tanks but this is my first time into the nanos.

I did start with the lighting. I'm looking at one of those JBJ clip on lamps (36 wt, 50/50). I haven't decided yet as far as a 10 gallon regular tank or a 7 gallon mini bow.

What I'm really wanting is an anenome / clown couple. I like the perculas but don't really care for the carpets so much. So I'm leaning towards a tomato in a bubble tip. I would also like to add some xenia down the line, a couple of snails and maybe a shrimp or two. Does this sound reasonable given the lighting? I'd like to add some live rock / sand and maybe use it for my main filtration.

It usually takes me a couple of months to go from thinking about a tank to actually putting water in one but I'd like some feedback on the basic ideas :)

Thanks!

Susan

Couple of potential problems with your setup plan. #1, Anemones. They are notoriously difficult to keep in small tanks. Read Chris Mark's article with interesting statistics here. #2, Tomato clowns are a little too big for a 10 or 7g tank. If you really want a clown & host, try false percula (Amphiprion Ocellaris?) with a 'surrogate' anemone replacement. Corals in the Euphyllia family are favorite surrogates, and IME they are simple to keep. Hope this helps

Mnes

agreed. anemones and nanos are a no no (say that three times fast).

They move around too much and can damage other corals (if you have them). Plus, given the small space, there is added risk of them getting stuck in the intake area of a powerhead or hob filter. Plus, when one goes, major catastrophe is likely, never mind the stink.