Innovative Marine Aquariums

Noob - 2.5g

Banisher of Hope

Banisher of Hope

Hey, i'm new to the forum and to SW. I've been reading links for the past couple days, and decides that every one here is very helpful and experienced. So here goes... I have a cycled 2.5 g salt tank, right now there isn't much in it [a hermit car, 2 small mushrooms, an Astraea]. I am woder what sort of thing i could put in here, that doesn't cost a lot of money, as i am a uni student. Any help or suggegtions at all would be very helpful.

{as a side note, what is a good site for pictures, so i can add the images of the tank i have?}

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
circusordie16

with 60 watts id say you can put in almost anything you want. to get the most bang for your buck id suggest zoas or ricordias.

circusordie16

are you just using a regular household light bulb in there? and i see an aiptasia in the last picture that youll want to get rid of.

Banisher of Hope

I was using incandescent 60W, but switched to 13 W compact fluorescent [60W replacement]. Is this ok, or should i go for something specifically for aquariums.

circusordie16

youre probably gonna wanna go with something made for aquariums as it will give a little better spectrum for the corals.

Banisher of Hope

ok, i'll look into getting a better light nest time i'm at big al's. also, what is the best way to get rid of the aiptasia? And one more question, has anyone done anything with red shrimp aka volcano shrimp aka Halocaridina Rubra? from what i read they can handle large salinity swings, but would they be ok in a reef tank, has anyone tried this?

never heard of the shrimp, get a coralife 50/50 14w or 18w bulb ( i think those are the choices) more wattage the better. Aiptasia: I see two in there and they will spread, either a peppermint shrimp or blastin them with boiling water or injecting lemon juice of some other thing like that. corals, i agree with what was said above

good luck