SaltCritters.com

noob that will lurk no more...

Newton Heath

Newton Heath

First off, let me say this is a great site WRT discussion and dissemination of knowledge. Without the input from all the regulars (and not so regulars) the hobby would remain just a fascination to most people, and more than likely, a disappointment to those frantically trying to find their way in the dark. Keep up the good work.

I'm a noob trying to set up a 30G reef. I've gone for the larger end on the nano scale as I know it will take a while for me to fully learn and understand the changes in water chemistry that are going to happen along the way and the size will at least be a small buffer to avoid some little mistakes.

I intend to go completely reef once I am comfortable with fish and inverts (in the region of 6 months to 1 year in) and add some as of yet undecided corals. I feel I will have sufficient lighting for most corals.

Also, I don't intend to overload the tank so I can keep it as simple as possible from a technical (equipment) standpoint (OPINION ALERT: per Chris's and some other peoples "opinion" [now I write this, it sounds bizarre referencing other people I have never met or spoken to :D]). This is not due to not wanting to maintain the items, but a willingness to substitute less life form density for a more natural approach so bear this in mind if you answer - I don't want 100 tank mates if I need a big filter hanging on the back or underneath.

As far as fish go, I want to keep a couple of tank raised false percs, a royal gramma and a banggai (various spellings abound) cardinal.