Top Shelf Aquatics

Five gallon tank turns into fuge...

Kalanianaole

Kalanianaole

Here's what I have. One five gallon beside a 6 gallon show tank (on the right). I don't have the bank to add corals/lighting to the 5 gallon, so I want to turn it into a fuge for the 6 gallon.

Anyone have any suggestions? I'm new to plumbing, so I'm at a loss.

I know for sure I do not want to drill or move the tanks, since there's no room for them anywhere else. I'd like the plumbing to be as discreet as possible also.

Thanks for any input.

Rock Anemone

I agree with Chris, you'll need to drill the 5 gallon and place it slighty above the other tank so it drains back down.

Your 2 tanks in that pic are VERY nice, keep up the awsome work!

Rock Anemone:)

Nishant3789

Or....if u want u can just get a tube and connect hte two tanks in the back, it wont exactly move water constantly, but everytime one of the tanks is at a different level than the other, the water will move until it is the same levels. u would have to make sure everything was leveled right though. i duno play around with it.

Is that an eclipse 6? I have one that I kept fresh water in, but now it's empty. I have a 20H reef, and I want to turn the 6 into a fuge. What kind of lights do you have in it? I may just set up a second reef.

Kalanianaole

all...

I was toying with the idea of fitting the tanks with identical pumps and connecting tubing from one pump to the opposite tank and vice versa. That way the flow would be similar and hopefully constant. Is that too risky of a plan?

Otherwise would I simply have the pump come out of the fuge (which is below the tank) and let gravity carry the water back to the fuge?

dwayne...

Yeah, that's an Eclipse Six. she's a beaut, too. i have the T8 ballast that came with the hood fitted with a Power-Glo 8 watt bulb. I also have a 13 watt Bookworm light fitted with a 50/50 bulb. I'm planning on adding a second Bookworm cos the tank now has two hammers and a trumpet.