Top Shelf Aquatics

And so it begins...

MFish

So, my brother comes home today telling me he wants to do something really 'different' for his senior project in two years.

LIGHT WENT OFF!

Before I graduated I was dead set on a prop system for my own senior project. I planned to have it in my basement alongside of a nice sized [120ish] reef. Now that I have a good skimmer [bought for octo-tank, but buying live food all the time seems like such a waste] The 120reef is a possibility...

So I told him that we should do something like that for his, he loved the idea.

Needless to say I think I'm going to aid in the creation of a prop system. However, since he needs to do all maintenance, it isn't going to be connected to my future reef.

Can you guys give me some ideas as to a good setup for a beginner? [i'll be donating some of my precious coral to this good cause :scarry: ] I was thinking of buying some acryllic and making a very shallow tank, possibly a 'Zero-Edge' overflow system.

This definitely calls for a 400w halide :naughtydance:

The Propagator

2 plain old rubbermaid tubs 36" acrossed will do it.

SLing one 40 watter over each and your set.

Just plumb them into the same refugium/wetdry and skimmer.

All you have to do is pop a bulk head on either side of each tub.

ONe for the supply to the sump and one for the return on each.

place rock or rock rubble in the bottom up to the top of the indents and then cut egcrate to fit over top of the indents.

VIOLA! A poor mans prop system.

I think the only problem with that is that those rubbermaid tubs would be relatively diffucult to take pictures to document the growth for the project. For me, it would be perfect, though.

What are your thoughts of a 400w on, say, a 29 with multi-leveled eggcrate shelfs? [acros at the top, zoos and shrooms closer to the bottom.] I have a leftover 29 that he could use.

The Propagator

As long as its a pendant and about 3-4 foot over the waters surface. :)