Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

20g High Setups Post Here!

ddooltl

Hi!

I'd like your ideas on how to set up my 20g High. Hopefully a simple setup that's easy on the budget (although I know in reality that's not true!: ) I'm new to saltwater but have experience with a 20g Long FW tank. ***Please post your specs and/or pics of your 20g Highs.

Also of concern is my lighting. It's the standard 15W flourescent strip light. Since I'm considering corals (probably just your beginner hardy type), I'll probably have to upgrade. My current hood though is the black plastic with just that one glass panel where the strip light sits on. Could I retrofit that one strip for enough light? That is...until I get enough confidence to try a DIY canopy!

Thanks.

:happy:

My 20H is set up as follows:

35 lbs. mixed live rock

25 lbs. of live sand

2 microjet powerheads

Aquaclear 200, sponge only

CPR bak pak skimmer

65 watt smartlite

2 15 watt NO lights (1 actinic, 1 10000K)

My setup was pretty inexpensive as far as reefs go. I'd say around $200 but I had everything but the smartlite and the skimmer. I would trash the plastic hood immediately and get glass hoods. That way you can at least pile on as many light strips as possible. With the setup I have all I really keep are mushrooms and colony polyps and two clowns. I really love it though. Sorry no pics for you until I get my new camera.

Originally posted by gullmo

My 20H is set up as follows:

I would trash the plastic hood immediately and get glass hoods. That way you can at least pile on as many light strips as possible.  

I don't have a reef tank as of yet (I am still in the research phase). Your comment was brought up in one of the LFS I went to earlier in the week. It seemed reasonable to do but wasn't quite sure. I asked another member of the sales staff and he didn't mention anything about it. Has anyone else done this? I have been thinking doing it just until I save up for the better lights.

My 20H consists of: