Top Shelf Aquatics

Mantis Musings

willtel

I found another mantis in my rock and I'm wondering if I should kick him to the curb or just ban him to the 'fuge. I think he would be cool in the 'fuge but don't I also want to keep a few snails and crabs in that area? Will he eat pods? This would be his future home once I get him out. The macro has been thinned out a bit since this pic.

rock3.jpg

What do you guys think?

If you can't find a good home from him, plenty here I'm sure would take him...

I'm pretty sure though he would live fine in the refuge, and wouldn't munch on the macro. Although wait for more responces, I'm still learning myself..

BTW: What type of rock did you get that he hitchhiked with?

thanks!

B)

how big is it and what colors? ive been looking for a mantis pm me or email me (cjm033@aol.com) if you wanna get rid of it ill gladly pay you the shipping for it,Chris

duckhuntboy

I have two mantis shrimp right now as pets (although I'm going to get rid on one soon). They are awesome pets, and do some crazy ######. Although your mantis's probably hide from you, after captivity for a while, they learn the hand that feeds them, and are much more fun to watch. They are extremely intelligent, and I'd recommend you keep it in your fuge, or even set up a new tank. I feed mine frozen brine shrimp, but occasionally I'll buy it a hermit so I can watch him attack. go to www.kyleandjesynasreef.com and you can see my mantis's. I didn't show the whole tank setup, because it's pretty small for a mantis tank, and I didn't want to get ridiculed, but it's just a little 2 gal from walmart with NO lights, and no heater.

duckhuntboy

Hey Chris, would you be interested in a frag trade for my other mantis?