ReefCleaners.org

Beginner ?'s!!!!help

Calga

I read the setup section of this site. I barley understood it. What is LIVE rock and sand?? powerhead???gravity meter???

I am a beginner in marine fish. I havve had freshwater for quite a while. I have a ten gallon, what kind of light do I need, I can have 2 light bulbs. What is a good brand of salt that I should use, how much? Are 2 Percula clowns good for a 10g? What kind of clean up crew do i need. about how much do clowns cost...US?

thanks for all your help

i know my ?'s are endless but I am new to saltwater...:blush:

thanks again in advance

My advice is to do what I did. Spend a week going through every thread on the sight. That's not to say I'm an expert, but it will deffinitly help you greatly. Alot of topics won't make sense at first, but the more you read the more they will. Also, go to a local fish store (LFS). But remember alot of them are ONLY concerned with making money. It is though a very good way to put visuals to the questions you have. i.e. "what are softhard corals, lighting, live rock (lr) - cured or uncured, sand, etc.) Many members here have 10 gal tanks and thier statistics are on thier posts. In my opinion (IMP) you probably need to get a different hood for your lighting if it is the original one that came with the tank. Or do it yourself (DIY) by changing the ballists. My advice is to buy a clamp on light. Usual rule of thumb is to have 3-4 watts per gallon. This is my advice for hardware, others I'm sure will have different opinions so read them all and figure out what is best for you. The prices I'm listing are for what I paid so shop around,

10 gallon (GAL) tank - done

JBJ 36 watt 5050 - $50.00 this is a clamp on light, looks good IMO

works well. The 5050 denotes the dual-bulb.

There are other brands.

Aqua clear 200 - $30.00 this a bio-filtration system. It is a small

plastic box that hangs on the back of the tank.

It sucks water in and pumps it back out into the