Top Shelf Aquatics

[Stock] luscien

luscien

DSC09175.jpg

one all zoa-mantis tank

by Lucien

INTRO.

hello all, i am very excited about this contest. and really proud to be entering the stock contest, so thanks! my reef experience dates back some months ago, but i have been around them all my life. so while i am still a novice i am learning fast. i already have one 20 gallon mantis tank and a 5.5 gallon nano. both are well and thriving. this one will be the third set up before i start my 65 wide dragon eel tank. i guess i like species tank. however my stock 10 gallon is going to be special. simple but awesome, the specifics are as fallows:

TANK:

just a plain jane 10 gallon tank with a beautiful Vampire Merlot. great for quenching that late night or early morning thirst! i painted the back black primer and that's about it.

LIGHTING:

a small 36watt pc aqua-light deluxe fixture.

12 inch double lamp fixture

2-18 watt 50/50 straight pin compact fluorescent lamps

On / Off switch

Built-in ballasts

Sleek aluminum housing (7"W x 2 1/2"H)

Highly-polished reflector

Acrylic lens cover

TEMPERATURE CONTROL AND MONITORING:

for this i have chosen a 50 watt pro-heat titanium heater, and the temp will be monitored by using the little time or temp thermometer.

FLOW & FILTRATION:

this is something i have been wanting to try for a while, and I'm glad that i get to try it on this project. it is a fluvial canister filter 204.

the fluvial 204 is recommended for no more than 40 gallons and has a flow of 180gph. that's without media... it has all the compartments for filter media that you would use in a sump, and can also be hidden easy. i don't like hang on filters because there to cumbersome and ugly. i also don't like the sight of visible equipment! i will also have one penguin power-head 660 in the tank. (if i can stand to look at it!) it has a flow of 170gph. so 170 +180 = a flow of 350. since that's under 400gph i think I'm good on that. yes!

WATER: