Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

New to saltwater and want to know a good setup

NanoNewbie16

First of all I'll just come out and say that I am a newbie when it comes to saltwater tanks. I have 3 freshwater tanks, a 10, 5, and a 2. I have recently been looking at saltwater tanks and want to convert my 5 gallon to salt. Plz give me a good setup for around maybe 50-70 bucks. I want to have live coral with maybe 2 damsels (i dont know the correct name of them i just know that they are blue with yelow tails), some snails, some shrimp, and some hermits. I would also like to know a good setup for my neighbor who is converting his 10 gallon fresh to a salt also. he wants basically the same set up as me so plz just tell me some good setups and help me out.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I also wanted to know if there are any kind of bulbs that wil fit without a new hood. I have a wierd hood that takes just regular incandesent bulbs like most 5-10 gallon fresh tanks take. So if there is just a special coral bulb that i can stick in there instead of replacing the hood plz tell me.

you're gonna need much more $ than that to set-up a saltwater/nano-reef...

5+ lbs. of live rock = $35+

5+ lbs. of live sand = $15+

ro/di water 5 gallons = let's just say $5

saltmix = $10+

powerhead(s) = $20+

power compact hood w/light = $50+

hob filter (let's just say a aq clear 150) = $20

and that's just to get a set-up started, you're already looking at $150 at LEAST. you'll easily spend $200, i promise. and probably $300 by the time you stock it with a clean-up crew, some corals, and maybe, that's a BIG MAYBE... fish.

i'm a newbie too, i was told that i can start up a 10 gallon for around $150-200 by the guy at the lfs, but i had doubts... so i did lots and LOTS of research (boy was he wrong!). bottom line is i've spent around $500 dollars so far, but i'm loving it. learning a lot everyday.