Coral Vue Hydros

My First Pico - 10 Minutes Old

The Keeper

1/30/05 - New updated pics and info (page 2)

2/04/06 - Added Cleanup Crew (page 3)

2/14/06 - Horrific Tradgedy Strikes! (page 3)

3/08/06 - Update, new corals and pictures (page 3)

Hey everyone, im new to salt water tanks. But a friend gave me a 1.5g hexagonal gold fish tank, so I decided to throw some live sand and rock in there.

I got some live rock, not sure what kind, and live sand from a reef tank at a local acquarium shop. For now all I have is a powerjet powering the undergravel filter for filtration. But I'll probably try adding some sort of filtration when i add the cleaning crew in 10 days.

This is the tank, about 5 minutes ago. Normal light bulb for now but I ordered a 25w 50/50 for it.

My first saltwater tank. :)

Any comments, advice? I wanted to keep some Green Star Polyps, Zoas, A mushroom coral, a goby, and a few small snails, or hermit crab. But im rreally not sure about what i want to put in it. i need to learn more..

DSC00443.jpg

DSC00444.jpg

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

undergravel filters are a no-no in sw tanks. take it out.

i would have gone with a more shallow sand bed.

nice toothbush.

Yep... that UG is not the way to go.... esp in such a small tank.

A 2.5 gallon is a bit harder than it may seem..... look at the pico contest threads for examples of what is working and who dropped out.

he knows. that is why he said he ordered a new bulb. READ THE THREAD BEFORE POSTING

This is the tank, about 5 minutes ago. Normal light bulb for now but I ordered a 25w 50/50 for it.

It's not a 2.5g tank, its a 1.5g!! Tiny little thing. As for cleaning, I was hoping a snail would take care of cleaning the tank, if not I have a soft bristle brush on a stick that can get almost anywhere.